Acknowledgements for ABSAMP

The Australian Beach Safety and Management Program (ABSAMP) was initiated in 1990 as a collaborative project of the Coastal Studies Unit, University of Sydney and Surf Life Saving Australia (States, Clubs and Affiliates). It was funded between 1990 and 2001 by ARC MST grant (1990-1992), ARC Collaborative Research Grants (1996-1998) and SPIRT grant (1999-2001). During this time the project leader Prof Andy Short investigated all Australian mainland beach systems plus those on 30 major islands. He was assisted in the field at various times by Chris Hogan, Andrew May, Peter Wadcoat, John Wadley, Graham Lloyd and Julia Short.

At SLSA the database was managed by Chris Hogan and later Katherine McLeod while the project was supervised successively by Denis Husner, Darren Peters, Stephen Leahy, Greg Nance, Gary Daly and Paul Stormon. ABSAMP is now managed from SLSA by Adam Weir and Norm Farmer ESM, and they assisted with the integration of the ABSAMP dataset into the OzCoasts.

Back to top of page